Hokkaido Prefecture

Japanese Name: 北海道
Capital City: Sapporo
Region: Hokkaido
Island: Hokkaido
Population: 5,383,579
Area: 83,424.22:


Hokkaido (北海道 Hokkaidō, literally "Northern Sea Circuit"), formerly known as Ezo, Yezo, Yeso, or Yesso, is the second largest island of Japan, and the largest and northernmost prefecture. The Tsugaru Strait separates Hokkaido from Honshu.The two islands are connected by the underwater railway Seikan Tunnel. The largest city on Hokkaido is its capital, Sapporo, which is also its only ordinance-designated city. About 43 km north of Hokkaido lies Sakhalin island, Russia, whereas to its east and north-east are the disputed Kuril Islands.